Blue Dog Coalition Endorses Chris Hunter

The Blue Dog Coalition, a group of 18 members of Congress from Florida and across the United States, announced its endorsement today of Chris Hunter who is running for Congress in Florida’s 12th district.

Hunter is a former federal prosecutor and FBI agent.  He most recently served as a senior federal prosecutor with the United States Department of Justice on our nation’s health care fraud strike force.  He resigned from the Justice Department to run for Congress.

The Blue Dog Coalition is comprised of fiscally-responsible members of Congress who are leading the way to find commonsense solutions for the American people.  Blue Dog members are committed to financial stability and economic opportunity, ensuring a strong national defense, and transcending party lines to do what’s best for the America people.

Congressman Kurt Schrader (OR-5), a member of the Blue Dog Coalition from Oregon and Co-Chair of the Blue Dog Political Action Committee, praised Hunter’s service.  “Chris Hunter served with distinction in the Justice Department, and he will be a strong advocate in Congress for fiscal responsibility, national security, and commonsense solutions to policy challenges of all shapes and sizes.  Chris has the right approach for his community and our country, and we look forward to him joining our ranks as we continue to be the leading group in Congress that regularly works to bring together members of both parties to get things done for the American people.”

“The members of the Blue Dog Coalition are thoughtful leaders committed to doing what’s right for our country, and I am honored to have their endorsement,” Hunter said.  “As I talk with people throughout my district, one thing is clear: everyone is ready for honest leadership and a brighter future. I am looking forward to renewing the American promise of honest service, first-class education, and economic opportunity for everyone centered on our shared American values.”

Hunter, a Democrat, announced his candidacy January 2, 2018 for the seat currently held by Republican incumbent Gus Bilirakis.